comedy | KALW

comedy

Fernando Gambaroni

  

Sara Moore gives people the gift of laughter through the art of clowning. And clowning has been self-empowering for them when it comes to gender. Sara’s character is out of this world in "The Supers: A Science-Fiction Magical Realism Human Cartoon Opera."

Lance Huntley

This week on Open Air, KALW’s radio magazine for the performing arts, guest host Leah Garchik talks about the African-American Shakespeare Company's unique annual holiday offering of Cinderellawith AASC founder and executive director Sherri Young and lead actress Funmi Lola (pictured). Cinderella, the often told tale of a scullery maid determined to take her life into her own hands and make it better, runs for 4 performances, December 20-22 at the Herbst Theater in San Francisco. 

The Stoop: Black Enough

Jul 22, 2019
Neema Iyer / The Stoop

From The Stoop:

Whether it's the music we hear, the clothes we wear, or the way we talk, a lot of us at some point were made to feel 'not black enough.' In this episode, we go deep with comedian W. Kamau Bell who's felt awkward in black circles and before black audiences, and we'll meet Black Benatar, a drag queen who struggles with performing blackness.

Photo courtesy of Katie Goodman/modified from original

We can all be radical geniuses by embracing a mindset of flexibility and resilience.

Jessica Palopoli

This week, on 2018’s last edition of Open Air, KALW’s radio magazine for the Bay Area performing arts, guest host Sarah Cahill talks with actors El Beh and Wiley Naman Strasser, who play the parts of Mary Poppins and Bert, respectively, in the San Francisco Playhouse production of the musical Mary Poppins, currently on stage through January 12, 2019. 

Comedian Rex Navarrete on finding humor through struggle

Dec 18, 2018
Courtesy of Rex Navarette

Growing up in South San Francisco during the ‘80s, Rex Navarrete secretly studied comedy. He says Eddie Murphy's records gave him his first lesson in real stand-up and storytelling in middle school.

Marga Gomez on playing her father on stage

Oct 22, 2018
Fabian Echevarria

For writer, performer, and comedian Marga Gomez, becoming an entertainer was somewhat of a rite of passage. 

This week on Open Air, host David Latulippe talks with comedian and festival co-producer Abhay Nadkarni about the 5th Annual Desi Comedy Fest which takes place from August 9 - 19 at comedy clubs and theaters in 9 Northern California cities: San Francisco, Berkeley, Mill Valley, Santa Cruz, Santa Clara, San Mateo, Milpitas, Dublin, and Mountain View.

Dan Soder performs Thursday (07/19/2018) through Saturday (07/21/2018) at the Punch Line in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Ron Funches performs Friday (07/20/2018) through Sunday (07/22/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Arj Barker performs Thursday (07/05/2018) through Saturday (07/07/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Nick Youssef performs Thursday (07/05/2018) through Saturday (07/07/2018) at the Punch Line in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Josh Blue performs this Thursday (06/21/2018) through Saturday (06/23/2018) at The Punch Line in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Fortune Feimster performs Sunday (06/24/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Francesca Fiorentini performs this Thursday (06/14/2018) at Verdi Wild Things Are at The Verdi Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Carly Aquilino performs Friday (06/15/2018) and Saturday (06/16/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Ben Feldman is performing this Wednesday night (05/02/2018) as part of 'Real Live Comedians' at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Piff the Magic Dragon comes roaring through town this Friday (05/05/2018) and Saturday (05/05/2018) nights at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Sheng Wang is performing Thursday (04/19/2018) through Saturday (04/21/2018) at the Punch Line in San Francisco, CA. Find tickets here.

Robert Kelly is performing Friday (04/20/2018) and Saturday (04/21/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco, CA. Find tickets here.

FSFSF: Comedy from Ian Bagg and Matt Braunger

Apr 11, 2018

Ian Bagg is performing Thursday (04/12/2018) through Sunday (04/15/2018) at the San Jose Improv in San Jose, California. Find tickets here.

Matt Braunger is performing Friday (04/13/2018) through Sunday (04/15/2018) at Cobb's Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Julie Goldman is performing Wednesday (03/28/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Laurie Kilmartin is performing Thursday (03/29/2018) through Saturday (03/31/2018) at The Punch Line in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Philosophy Talk: The Power and Peril of Satire

Mar 20, 2018

Does freedom of speech guarantee the right to poke fun at anyone and anything we want?


Brian Posehn is performing Thursday (03/15/2018) through Saturday (03/17/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find ticket information here.

Jon Dore is performing Thursday (03/15/2018) through Saturday (03/17/2018) at The Punch Line in San Francisco. Find ticket information here.

FSFSF: Comedy from Michael Yo and Ron Funches

Feb 21, 2018

Michael Yo is performing at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco on Friday (02/23/2018) and Saturday (02/24/2018). Find tickets here.

Ron Funches is performing Thursday (02/22/2018) through Saturday (02/24/2018) at the San Jose Improv in San Jose, CA. Find ticket information here.

Red Scott will be performing this Thursday night (02/08/2018) at Verdi Wild Things Are at the Verdi Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Michelle Wolf will be performing at Cobb's Comedy Club in San Francisco this Friday (02/09/2018), Saturday (02/10/2018), and Sunday (02/11/2018). The Sunday show was added because all four of the other shows have sold out. Find ticket information here.

Courtesy of Jesús U. BettaWork

On stage you can find comedian Jesús U. BettaWork dressed in gold sequins, dancing, and telling jokes with vaudevillian and burlesque flair.

But he only started doing stand-up five years ago. He spoke with KALW’s Jen Chien about the ups and downs of becoming a comic.

Jesús U. BettaWork will be performing at the White Horse Inn, 6551 Telegraph Ave. in Oakland on Thursday, January 25, and at the Stud Bar SF, 399 Ninth St. in San Francisco on Sunday, January 28.

 

Ngaio Bealum is performing on Thursday (01/18/2018) at Doc’s Lab in San Francisco as part of Sketchfest 2018. Find tickets here.

Eliza Skinner is performing Friday (01/19/2018) at Cobb’s Comedy Club as part of Sketchfest 2018. Find tickets here.

Sammy Obeid  is taping his new live album tonight (Tuesday, 01/02/2017) and tomorrow night (Wednesday, 01/03/2017) at The Punch Line in San Francisco. Find more information and tickets here.

Bill Bellamy will be performing Friday (01/05/2017) and Saturday (01/06/2017) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Read more and find tickets here

Roy Wood Jr. performs Thursday (12/28/2017) through Saturday (12/30/2017), at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco, CA. Find more information and tickets here.

Paula Poundstone will be performing a New Year's Eve show Sunday (12/31/2017) at the Nourse Theater in San Francisco, CA. The show appears to be sold out, but you can find box office information here.

Anna Wu

This week’s Open Air, the last show of 2017, features a conversation with Natasha Kaluza and Jamie Coventry, performers, producers and directors of Winter Circus Cabaret ‘Mittens and Mistletoe’.

Courtesy of Karinda Dobbins

Comedian Karinda Dobbins is unapologetically political in her stand-up.

Nikki Glaser is performing Thursday (10/26/2017) through Saturday (10/28/2017)  at Cobb's Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Chris Rock is performing Thursday (10/26/2017) through Sunday (10/29/2017) at the Paramount Theatre of the Arts in Oakland, CA. Find tickets here.

FSFSF: Comedy from Michael Che and Joe List

Oct 18, 2017

Michael Che performs Friday (10/20/2017) and Saturday (10/21/2017) at Cobb's Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Joe List performs Thursday (10/19/2017) through Sunday (10/22/2017) at Rooster T. Feathers in Sunnyvale, CA. Find tickets here.

Photo courtesy of Sandip Roy/modified from original

70 years after Independence it sometimes feels as if Indians are still to develop a funny bone.

Andy Zaltzman is performing Sunday (10/15/2017) at Cobb’s Comedy Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Natasha Muse is performing Thursday (10/12/2017) at the Verdi Club in San Francisco. Find tickets here.

Pages