KALW's Daily Almanac | KALW

KALW's Daily Almanac

Sunrise ... sunset ... tides ... annual rainfall ... on this day in history ... international holiday celebrations ... full moon lore ... and more.  Tune in for the Daily Almanac Monday through Friday at 5:49am and 8:49am.

Do you have comments or questions, corrections, or suggestions for the Almanac?   Would you like the Almanac to acknowledge a special birthday or anniversary?  Contact me by email:  joe@kalw.org.

Almanac - Tuesday 8/20/19

15 hours ago

Today is Tuesday, the 20th of August of 2019...

Almanac - Monday 8/19/19

Aug 19, 2019

Its Monday, August 19, 2019...

Elvis left the building for good on this day in 1977.

Today is Friday, August 16, 2019, the 228th day of the year, with 137 days remaining. 38 days until autumn and a mere 445 days until the 2020 Presidential Election.   

  • Sunrise: 6:26am     
  • Sunset: 8:02pm ...giving us 13 hours and 38 minutes of daylight.   99% of the moon will be visible, rising at 9:04pm. 

Almanac - Thursday 8/15/19

Aug 15, 2019

It's Thursday, August 15, 2019...

Almanac - Wednesday 8/14/19

Aug 14, 2019

Today is Wednesday the 14th of August of 2019...

Almanac - Tuesday 8/13/19

Aug 13, 2019

It's Tuesday, August 13,

 2019...

Almanac - Monday 8/12/19

Aug 12, 2019

Today is Monday, the 12th of August of 2019...

Almanac - Friday 8/9/2019

Aug 9, 2019

It's Friday, August 9, 2019....

Almanac - Thursday 8/8/19

Aug 8, 2019

Today is Thursday, the 8th of August of 2019 is the 220th day of the year...

It's Raspberries & Cream Day...enjoy!

Today is Wednesday, August 7, 2019, the 219th day of the year, with 146 days remaining. 47 days until autumn and a mere 454 days until the 2020 Presidential Election.

  • Sunrise: 6:18am    
  • Sunset: 8:12pm ...giving us 13 hours and 56 minutes of daylight.  39% of waxing crescent moon will be visible, rising at 1:48pm.    

Tides at the Golden Gate     

Almanac 8/6/19

Aug 6, 2019

It's Tuesday, August 6, 2019...

Almanac - Monday 8/5/19

Aug 5, 2019

It's Monday,  August 5, 2019...

Have an "It's It" as it's Ice Cream Sandwich Day!

Today is Friday, August 2, 2019, the 214th day of the year, with 151 days remaining.

  • Sunrise: 6:14am    
  • Sunset: 8:18pm ...giving us 14 hours and 5 minutes of daylight.  

0% of the so-called Black Moon is visible, so called because it’s the first of two new moons occurring within the month, rising at 7:59am (if you can see it!).    

 

Almanac - Thursday 8/1/19

Aug 1, 2019

It's Thursday August 1, 2019...

Almanac - Wednesday 7/31/19

Jul 31, 2019

It's Wednesday, July 31, 2019...

Almanac - Tuesday 7/30/19

Jul 30, 2019

It's Tuesday, 

July 30, 2019...

Almanac - Monday 7/29/19

Jul 29, 2019

Its Monday, July 29th 2019....

Almanac - Thursday 7/25/19

Jul 25, 2019

It's Thursday, July 25, 2019...

Almanac - Wednesday 7/24/19

Jul 24, 2019

Good Morning.  Today is Wednesday, the 24th of July of 2019...

Almanac - Tuesday 7/23/19

Jul 23, 2019

Good Morning, Today is Tuesday, the 23rd of July of 2019...

Almanac - Monday 7/22/19

Jul 22, 2019

Good Morning, Today is Monday July 22, 2019.

Almanac - Thursday 7/18/19

Jul 18, 2019

Today is Thursday, the 18th of July of 2019 is the 199th day of the year...

Almanac - Wednesday 7/17/19

Jul 17, 2019

Today is Wednesday, the 17th of July of 2019...

Almanac - Tuesday 7/16/19

Jul 16, 2019

Today is Tuesday, the 16th of July of 2019...

Almanac - Monday 7/15/19

Jul 15, 2019

Today is Monday, the 15th of July of 2019 is the 196th day of the year...

Almanac - Friday 7/12/2019

Jul 12, 2019
Doner Kebab by Miwok via flickr

Today Friday, the 12th of July of 2019, is the 193rd day of the year. 

There are 172 days remaining until the end of the year.

The sun will rise in San Francisco at 5:57 am 

and sunset will be at 8:32 pm.

We will have 14 hours and 34 minutes of daylight.

High tides today at 9:53am and 9:01 pm

Low tides today at 3:09am and 2:29pm

 

The moon today is a waxing gibbous moon, 81% illuminated

It will rise at 4:59pm

Almanac - Thursday 7/11/19

Jul 11, 2019

Today is Thursday, the 11th of July of 2019. It is the 192nd day of the year...

Almanac - Wednesday 7/10/19

Jul 10, 2019

Today is Wednesday, the 10th of July of 2019...

Almanac - Tuesday 7/9/19

Jul 9, 2019

Today is Tuesday, the 9th of July of 2019...

Almanac - Monday 7/8/19

Jul 8, 2019

Today is Monday, the 8th of July of 2019...

Pages