KALW Almanac | KALW

KALW Almanac

Almanac - Wednesday 12/18/19

Dec 18, 2019

Today is Wear-A-Plunger-On-Your-Head Day!


Almanac - Tuesday 12/17/19

Dec 17, 2019

The Aztec Calendar was discovered on this day in history...


Almanac - Monday 12/16/19

Dec 16, 2019

today is chocolate covered anything day...


Almanac - Friday 12/13/19

Dec 13, 2019

Today is Ice Cream Day! (brrr...)


Almanac - Thursday 12/12/19

Dec 12, 2019

It's Poinsetta Day...

Almanac - Wednesday 12/11/19

Dec 11, 2019

It's International Mountain Day...

Almanac - Tuesday 12/10/19

Dec 10, 2019

on this day in 1768, The first edition of the Encyclopædia Britannica is published.


Almanac - Monday 12/9/19

Dec 9, 2019

It's Llama Day!


Enjoy a bowl on Gazpacho Soup Day!

Today is Friday, December 6, 2019, the 340th day of the year, with 25 days remaining.  And only 340 days until the 2020 Presidential Election.    

  • Sunrise: 7:11am        
  • Sunset: 4:514pm ...giving us 9 hours and 41 minutes of daylight.   64% of the waxing gibbous moon will be visible, rising at 2:04pm.  

Almanac - Thursday 12/5/19

Dec 5, 2019

It's Sacher Torte Day!


Almanac - Wednesday 12/4/19

Dec 4, 2019

Today is Cheetah Day!


Almanac - Tuesday 12/3/19

Dec 3, 2019

It's Green Bean Casserole Day...


Almanac - Monday 12/2/19

Dec 2, 2019

Today is Play Basketball Day...


Almanac - Friday 11/29/19

Nov 29, 2019

Today is Maize Day...


Almanac - Wednesday 11/27/19

Nov 27, 2019

It's National Pie-In-The-Face Day!

It's also Bavarian Cream Pie Day...


Almanac - Tuesday 11/26/19

Nov 26, 2019

Today is Tuesday, the 26th of November of 2019.

It is the 330th day of the year. 

35 days remain until the end of the year....

25 days until winter begins

98 days until primaries and

343 days until presidential elections.

The sun rises at 7:02 am 

and sunset will be at 4:52 pm. 

Today we will have 9 hours and 50 minutes of daylight. 

The first low tide was at 4:09 am 

The only high tide of the day will be at 10:30 am.

and the final low tide at the Golden Gate will be at 5:10 pm. 

Almanac - Monday 11/25/19

Nov 25, 2019

It's Parfait Day...

Almanac - 11/22/19

Nov 22, 2019

Among the musicians that have/had today as their birthday: Hoagy Carmichael (Heart and Soul, Georgia on My Mind, The Nearness of You...several hundred others!)

 

Today is Friday, November 22, 2019, the 326th day of the year, with 39 days remaining.  And only 347 days until the 2020 Presidential Election.    

  • Sunrise: 6:58am       
  • Sunset: 4:54pm ...giving us 9 hours and 59 minutes of daylight.   28% of the waning gibbous moon will be visible, rising at 2:16am.  

Almanac - Thursday 11/21/19

Nov 21, 2019

It's Pumpkin Pie Day...


Almanac - Wednesday 11/20/19

Nov 20, 2019

It's Peanut Butter Fudge Day!

Almanac - Tuesday 11/19/19

Nov 19, 2019

Today is National Blow Your Bagpipes Day...

Almanac - Monday 11/18/19

Nov 18, 2019

It's National Vichyssoise Day...

It's America Recycles Day! Today is Friday, November 15, 2019, the 319th day of the year, with 46 days remaining.  And only 354 days until the 2020 Presidential Election.    

  • Sunrise: 6:50am      
  • Sunset: 4:59pm ...giving us 10 hours and 10 minutes of daylight.   

94% of the waning gibbous moon will be visible, rising at 7:41pm.  

Almanac - Thursday 11/14/19

Nov 14, 2019

Today is Spicy Guacamole Day...

Almanac - Wednesday 11/13/19

Nov 13, 2019

It's Indian Pudding Day...

Almanac - Tuesday 11/12/19

Nov 12, 2019

The San Francisco–Oakland Bay Bridge opens to traffic on this day in 1936...

Almanac - Monday 11/11/19

Nov 11, 2019

Today is Origami Day. It's also Veteran's Day...


It's National Cappuccino Day...enjoy! Today is Friday, November 8, 2019, the 312th day of the year, with 53 days remaining.  And only 361 days until the 2020 Presidential Election.    

  • Sunrise: 6:43am      
  • Sunset: 5:04pm ...giving us 10 hours and 24 minutes of daylight.   

79% of the waxing gibbous moon will be visible, rising at 3:36pm.  

Almanac - Thursday 11/7/19

Nov 7, 2019

It's Hug A Bear day, Today, Thursday, November 7, 2019...

Almanac - Wednesday 11/6/19

Nov 6, 2019

Today is Wednesday, the 6th of November of 2019...

Pages